Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pixel Art Tutorial

3 posters

:: Off-Topic

Go down

Pixel Art Tutorial Empty Pixel Art Tutorial

Post by Niro Fri May 10, 2013 9:35 am

Hi everyone.

Some of you have been waiting for a pixel art tutorial, even though i'm not an expert. I still wish to show you, what kind of stuff i did ( And still do ) to become a better pixel artist.

In this tutorial, we will be making a tree. I use these guide lines to create the height, and width of the tree.
Pixel Art Tutorial Udklip13
Quite simple, eh?

Now, if we move on, and create a circle that connects the top 3 lines.( Connecting the top 3 lines is optional ) The circle also helps you to see, where you should place your leafes. Also add the trunk to see the relation between trunk height and roof for you leafes.
Pixel Art Tutorial Udklip14

Now you can start adding leafes. At least, the base of them. Remove some of the guide lines in the middle, and then remove the circle. But only remove the circle, once you are sure you know, how many leafes you want. I suggest you start from the middle, when you make the leafes and then work your way out. Seeing, that's where it's 'closest' to the viewer.
Pixel Art Tutorial Udklip15

Here comes the harder part. If you are new, then the next step is gonna take alot of time.
Creating the actual form and shape of the tree. This is where you spend alot of time, to make it all look good. ( In case you havn't noticed, i made the trunk smaller here, and added some leafes.)

Now, if you look at the tree to the left it looks like a normal tree. Quite boring and easy-going. The red line is just to show you, that it the tree can change form, depends on how you want it to be. Now look at the tree to the right. It has been giving a shape. A new personality, if i may say. The tree follows the new red line.